World Cup 2016

010816_2World Cup of Hockey

The World Cup of Hockey is back! Basically, the NHL is trying to make the World Cup of Hockey the replacement for Olympic Hockey because there is a chance that we won’t see NHL players in the Olympics anymore.

Tournament Format

There are eight teams this year with two special teams: Team North America (the best NHL players 23 years old and younger) and Team Europe (the best European hockey players that are not from Russia, Finland, Sweden and the Check Republic). There are two groups in the tournament and the best two teams in each group will advance to the semifinals. The final will be best-of-three.

Who to Watch

Alex Ovechkin has not won an Olympic gold medal or a Stanley Cup and should be determined to at least win a World Cup gold medal. Team North America is the tournament’s dark horse (with dark jerseys) because they have no pressure on them and are extremely skilled and fast. They will be fun to watch every game they play.

by Tremayne



Send in Your Comments

Tremayne is the B! sports writer for all your hockey comments and questions. Send him a note and he’ll reply!